One of the most common questions we receive is "are minors allowed to serve alcohol in Nevada?"
First, understand that a "minor" is defined by Nevada law as a person who is under the age of 21 (with regard to alcohol service).
Minors are prohibited from handling open alcohol in any capasity. They can NOT pour or mix alcoholic beverages as part of their employment duties.
There is an exception, however. Minors are permitted to handle cealed alcohol under the following circumstances:
They are employed by a retail grocery store.
They complete the required alcohol awareness training and obtain their alcohol card or TAM Card.
- They must be 16 years of age. If they are 16-17 years of age, they must be supervised by a person 18+ years of age. If they are 18+ years of age, they do not need supervision.
The statute is below:
NRS 244.351 Sale of intoxicating liquors: Sale by minors allowed in certain circumstances. A person who has attained the age of 16 years and has not attained the age of 18 years may be employed in a retail food store for the sale or disposition of liquor if:
1. He is supervised by a person who is 18 years of age or over and who is an owner or an employee of the business which sells or disposes of the liquor;
2. Such person 18 years of age or over who is supervising such person under 18 is actually present at the time that such person under 18 sells or disposes of the liquor; and
3. The liquor is in a container or receptacle which is corked or sealed.